Vounteer Ireland Awards Shortlist and Winners 2021

Volunteer of the Year

Nigel Heneghan
Community Creations (spunout and 50808)

Arts, Culture and Festivals
Uta Uí Almhain, Oriel Traditional Orchestra, Co. Louth *WINNER*
– Elena Sawczenko, Tipperary Gold Star Project & HSE Disability Services, Co. Tipperary
– Jennifer Sullivan and Robert McBurney, Living Well with Dementia Sweet Memories Choir, Co. Dublin

Campaigning and Activism
Seamus Connolly, Autism Equality Dublin Bay, Co. Dublin *WINNER*
– Larry Magnier, Blackrock Tidy Towns & Louth Tidy Towns Together, Co. Louth
– Aisling Maloney, Various Organisations, Co. Tipperary

Children and Youth
– Angela Locke-Reilly, AIRC Mayo and Midlands, Co. Westmeath
– Nigel Heneghan, Community Creations, Co. Dublin
Mary Browne, Children’s Grief Centre, Limerick *WINNER*

– James and John Lynch, Age Action, Co. Cork
Majella Beattie, CARE Champions, Co. Longford *WINNER*
– Raymond Carr, Aviva Centralised Vaccination Centre Programme, Co. Dublin

Environmental and Animal Care
Susan Hewitt, MADRA (Mutts Anonymous Dog Rescue and Adoption), Co. Galway *WINNER*
– Michael O’Halloran, Waterloo Renewal Group, Co. Cork
– Sheena Twist, Burren Animal Rescue, Co. Clare

Health and Wellbeing
– Ellen Leacy, Down Syndrome Limerick, Co. Limerick
– Marian Kierans, Healthy Ireland – Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda & LMETB, Drogheda, Co. Louth
Noreen O’Flaherty, Recovery Haven Cancer Support House, Co. Kerry *WINNER*

Safety and Emergency Services
– Tony O’Brien, Cork City Community First Responders, Co. Cork
– Jonathan Lynch, Meath Civil Defence, Co. Meath
Brian Niland, Galway RNLI, Co. Galway *WINNER*

Social Inclusion and Community Support
– Magdalena Lisiak, Tipperary Gold Star Initiative, Co. Tipperary
– Phillip Gaffney, Naul Community Council, Co. Meath
Joe Cribbin, Ballyleague Mens Shed, Ballyleague & Cloontuskert Tidy Towns, Co. Roscommon *WINNER*

Sports and Recreation
– Susan McCahill, Donegal Dynamos Special Olympics Club, Co. Donegal
Michael Kenny, Cullen-Lattin AFC, Co. Tipperary *WINNER*
– Seamus O’Doherty, Hillview Sports Club, Co. Tipperary

Volunteer Manager
Robbie Stack, Aviva Centralised Vaccination Centre Volunteer Programme, Co. Dublin *WINNER*
– Tricia Nolan, South Dublin Volunteer Centre, Co. Dublin
– Shirley Hewston, 40th Company Manorhamilton Girls Brigade, Co. Leitrim

Small Group (3-20)
Meitheal21 – Down Syndrome Tipperary, Co Tipperary *WINNER*
– A Lending Hand, Co. Dublin
– Carrick-on-Suir Meals Assistance Service, Co Tipperary

Large Group (20+)
– Innovate Communities – INSPIRE Mentoring Programme, Co Dublin
– Free Legal Advice Centres, Co. Dublin
Volunteer Listening Group, Recovery Haven Cancer Support House, Co. Kerry *WINNER*