2014 Awards

Read the inspiring stories of all the shortlisted volunteers below.

10 Category Awardees were announced at the gala Volunteer Ireland Awards Ceremony on December 4th at Dublin City Hall, in celebration of International Volunteer Day. Jim Kavanagh was announced as the first recipient of the annual Christine Buckley Volunteer of the Year Award.

Volunteer of the Year

Jim Kavanagh, Adi Roche’s Chernobyl Children International, Co. Kilkenny

Jim has volunteered since the mid-1990s and has made his life’s work the alleviation of suffering for thousands of children, young adults.

2014 Nominees

Animals and Environment

Stephen O’Gara
Irish Coast Guard – Howth
(Category Winner)

Mary Price
Irish Seal Sanctuary, Co. Dublin

Ricky Whelan
Birdwatch Ireland, Co. Laois

Arts, Culture and Media

Bríd Finn
Elemental Arts & Culture Festival, Co. Limerick
(Category Winner)

Louise Wilson
Midleton Food & Drink Festival, Co. Cork

Susuana Komolafe
Afro in Diaspora Centre, Co. Cavan

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Carmel McDonnell – Byrne
Aislinn Education & Support Centre, Dublin 1
(Category Winner)

Bernadette Sullivan
Dignity4Patients, Co. Louth

Monica McElhinney
Donal Parsons Trust, Co. Sligo

Children and Youth

Annette Wooley
Foróige, Dublin 24
(Category Winner)

David Jewell
Brú Youth Service & Club, Dublin 12

Jerome Gibson
LEAF Garda Youth Diversion Project, Co. Donegal


Paraic Noone
Keadue Development Association, Co. Roscommon
(Category Winner)

Michael Hooper
Flanagan’s Fields Community Garden, Dublin 8

Micheál O’Sullivan
Ard Cúram Day Care Centre, Co. Kerry

Education and Training

Quaid Cleland
The Sign Language Association
(Category Winner)

Joan Wadsworth
Solas Project, Dublin 2

Peggy Jones
Galway Citizens Information Service, Co. Galway

Health and Disability

Majella Forde
Irish Red Cross Tralee, Co. Kerry
(Category Winner)

Breed McMahon
Daughters of Charity Disability Support Services

Kath Burke
Little People of Ireland, Co. Meath

International Development

Jim Kavanagh
Adi Roche’s Chernobyl Children International, Co. Kilkenny
(Category Winner)

Frances O’Keeffe
Concern Worldwide

Louise Quill
Tír na nÓg Orphanage, Co. Kerry

Social Work

Michael Mackey
Galway Simon Community & Simon Communities of Ireland
(Category Winner)

Karen Byrne
Depaul Ireland, Dublin 12

Mary Walsh
Depaul Ireland, Dublin 1

Sports and Recreation

Linda Gaffney
Whitehall Colmcille GAA, Dublin 9
(Category Winner)

Agnes Fitzmaurice
Senior Tribes Special Olympic Swimming Club, Co. Galway

Hannah Fox
Lakers Social & Recreational Club, Co. Wicklow