Matt Cullen Named Volunteer of the Year

At the 2015 Volunteer Ireland Awards, Volunteer Ireland was delighted to announce that Matt Cullen from Swords Tidy Towns was the recipient of the Christine Buckley Volunteer of the Year Award 2015. Read the inspiring stories of all the shortlisted volunteers below.

10 Category Awardees were also announced at the gala Volunteer Ireland Awards Ceremony on December 2nd at Dublin City Hall.

Many thanks to all those who nominated a volunteer for the Volunteer Ireland Awards 2015. Every nominee for the Volunteer Ireland Awards 2015 received a special ‘thank you’ card in recognition of their contribution to volunteering.

2015 Nominees

Animals and Environment

Mel Robinson

Mel Robinson
Seal Rescue Ireland
(Category Winner)

John Kearney

John Kearney
West Cork Underwater Search and Recovery Team

Matt Cullen

Matt Cullen
Swords, Co. Dublin

Arts, Culture and Media

Ronan Loughney
Blue Teapot Theatre Company
(Category Winner)

Jennifer Kavanagh
The Arklow Marine & Heritage Committee

Paula McCaul
Laragh Heritage

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Eimear Tynan and Patricia Larkin
Breakthrough Cancer Research
(Category Winner)

Carmel McDonnell Byrne
Aislinn Education and Support Centre

Margaret Mullet
Irish Haemochromatosis Association

Children and Youth

David Murtagh
Brú Youth Service
(Category Winner)

Catherine Waldock
Scouting Ireland

John O’Connor
Solas Project


Mike Mulholland
Corbett Suicide Prevention Control
(Category Winner)

Frank Byrne
Oxfam and Holy Redeemer Church

Terry Kavanagh
Roundwood Community Council

Education and Training (2008 – 2015)

Amr Dawood
Enactus TCD
(Category Winner)

Brendan Cleary
Finglas Credit Union

Paula Galvin

Emergency and Ambulance Services (new for 2016)

No nominees.

Health and Disability

Barry Foley
Ability West
(Category Winner)

Frank Downes
Irish Guide Dogs for the Blind

Marie Cahill
Galway Parkinsons

International Development (2008 – 2015)

Ann Coleman
Adi Roche’s Chernobyl Children International
(Category Winner)

Amir Davis
Amir Public School

Lucie Nagle
Hope Foundation

Social Work

Hilary Sharpe
Arklow Community Resource Centre
(Category Winner)

Brenda O’Donnell
Swan Family Support Centre

Catherine Dooley

Sports and Recreation

Paul Garrigan
Baltinglass GAA
(Category Winner)

Martin Dolan
Ferbane GAA Club

Michael Donohue
Newbridge Community Games