2017 marked the tenth annual Volunteer Ireland Awards. The awards have a long tradition of recognising, celebrating and thanking volunteers from all across Ireland. There has been a diverse mix of shortlisted nominees and winners over the last nine years. You can read more about the most recent edition of the awards (2016) below or use the menu on the right to view previous editions.

2016 Awards

David McEvoy Named 2016 Volunteer of the Year

At the 2016 Volunteer Ireland Awards, Volunteer Ireland was delighted to announce that David McEvoy from Birr First Responders was the recipient of the Christine Buckley Volunteer of the Year Award 2016. See the full list of shortlisted volunteers and category winners below.

2016 Nominees

Animals and Environment

Wendy-Jane Vion
Drogheda Animal Rescue
(Category Winner)

Richard Jones
Burren Beo

Paddy Joe Hynes

Arts, Culture and Media

Máirtín O’Dubhghaill
To Children with Love
(Category Winner)

Marie Moran
Peamount Healthcare

Jaclyn Visbeen
Solas Project

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Gary Farrell
Scoliosis Ireland
(Category Winner)

Amr Dawood and Max Doyle
One for Ireland

Stephanie Forgarty
LGBT Society, Cork IT

Children and Youth

Alfie and Marcie Streete
Chernobyl Children International
(Category Winner)

Denise Dennehy
Youthreach Mahon

Ray O’Callaghan
Down Syndrome Ireland


Yvonne Gregg
Meakstown Community Council
(Category Winner)

Mary Guerineaud Byrne
The Little Flower Centre, Meath Street

Kay Mills
Donore Community Drug & Alcohol Team

Emergency and Ambulance Services

David McEvoy
Birr First Responders
(Category Winner)

Michael Guerin
Order of Malta Kells

Joan McAdam
Haggardstown & Blackrock Cardiac First Responders


Health and Disability

Terri Golden
Cystic Fibrosis Ireland
(Category Winner)

Hazel Farrell
Central Remedial Clinic

Louise McCormack
CURA Counselling Service

Social Work

Ina Doyle
Clonmel Soup Kitchen
(Category Winner)

Julie Darcy
Milford Care Centre

Eamonn White
Swan Family Support

Sports and Recreation

Sheila Foy
Special Olympics Ireland
(Category Winner)

Seamus Cassels
Rampage Sports Club

Jonathan Healy
Scouting Ireland




Volunteer Manager Special Commendation

In 2016, we awarded the first ever Special Commendation for a Volunteer Manager. The commendation is separate to the regular awards categories as it can be awarded to a Volunteer Manager in either a paid or unpaid role. The 2016 Special Commendation was awarded to Iris Buchanan of The Alzheimer Society of Ireland.

The three Volunteer Managers who were shortlisted for the inaugural commendation were:

  • Iris Buchanan – The Alzheimer Society of Ireland (2016 Awardee)
  • Lorna Collins – Laura Lynn Children’s Hospice
  • Tracie Kinsella – Youth Work Ireland