2013 Awards

Volunteer Ireland is delighted to announce the 30 shortlisted volunteers for the Volunteer Ireland Awards 2013. Read the inspiring stories of the 30 remarkable nominees below!

Ireland’s Volunteer of the Year and 10 overall Category Awardees was announced at a gala Volunteer Ireland Awards Ceremony in Dublin City Hall on December 5th, 2013, International Volunteer Day.

Volunteer of the Year

Declan & Darryl Barry, Waterford Marine Search & Rescue

Declan and Darryl Barry have being involved with marine search and rescue for over 7 years.  In January 2010 they set up Waterford.

2013 Nominees

Animals and Environment

John Power
Dunmore East Tidy Towns
(Category Winner)

Ann McKenna
Last Hope Animal Charity

Declan & Darryl Barry
Waterford Marine Search & Rescue

Arts, Culture and Media

Alice Mannion
Kilmurry Drama Group
(Category Winner)

Kebba Cham
Diversity Sligo

Ray McGovern
Dublin City South Volunteer Centre, Fingal Volunteer Centre and Others

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Frankie Forde-Waldron
Mayo Roscommon Hospice
(Category Winner)

Audrey Craven
The Migraine Association of Ireland

Oliver Moran
Second Republic: A grassroots movement for political reform in Ireland

Children and Youth

Killian O’ Kelly
(Category Winner)

Albert Kerr
Queen Of Peace Adventure Youth Club

Violet Gavin
Positive Mental Health


Daniel Downey
Cavan Community Radio & others
(Category Winner)

Cathie O’Neill
Ballincollig Community Forum

Noelle Quann
Lismore Community First Response

Education and Training

Fintan Mulligan
(Category Winner)

Ena Staunton
St Michael’s School, Castlerea

Lynda Murphy
Irish Red Cross – Tralee Youth Section

Health and Disability

Lorraine Dempsey
Special Needs Parents Association
(Category Winner)

Becky Blight
Blood Bike West

Peter Boyd
Arthritis Ireland

International Development

Anne Copplestone
The Hope Foundation
(Category Winner)

Alison Murphy
Team Hope

Helen Faughnan
Chernobyl Children International

Social Work

Liam Hendry
Assisting Leo Garvey
(Category Winner)

Brian Fagan
Brian’s Treasure Chest Charity Shop (various charities)

Brian Molloy
DePaul Ireland

Sports and Recreation

John McCarthy
Irish Wheelchair Association Sport
(Category Winner)

Stuart McLindon
Gaelic Warriors Irish Wheelchair Rugby Team

Valerie Haugh
North Star Swimming Club For People with Disabilities