2012 Awards

Volunteer Ireland Awards 2012 – The Shortlist

These 30 remarkable volunteers were short listed out of hundreds of nominations for their outstanding work. The Volunteer Ireland Awards are an opportunity to thank these oustanding 30 volunteers but also to celebrate and recognise the thousands of remarkable people across the country who selflessly give their time and talent to benefit others and their communities.

The nominees and their guests attended the gala ceremony in Dublin’s City Hall on December 5th 2012, International Volunteer Day.

Volunteer of the Year

Jacqueline McAuley, VSO Ireland

In Ethiopia, Jacqueline worked in some of the toughest conditions a midwife can face. Ethiopia has one of the world’s weakest health.

2012 Nominees

Animals and Environment

Jacqueline O’Driscoll
Limerick Feral Cats
(Category Winner)

Alpha Gassama
ClondalClean (in association with Clondalkin Tidy Towns)

Denis Heffernan
Emly Tidy Towns

Arts, Culture and Media

Sha Gillespie
Foyle Gay Pride Festival, Derry
(Category Winner)

Michael Delaney/Bernard Mulvihill
The Helium Music Festival for Ataxia Ireland

Noel Heenan
Brookfield Music Club

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Lorraine O’Neill
Cystic Fibrosis, Cavan branch
(Category Winner)

David Prendergast
Laura Lynn House and Children’s Sunshine Home

Oliver Clare

Children and Youth

Cel Fennessy
The Irish Girl Guides
(Category Winner)

John Healy
Bru Youth Service

Johnny O’Neill
The Playtrail


Sharon Parker-Byrne
New Oak Estate Community
(Category Winner)

Seamus Stack
Dromcollogher & District Respite Care Centre

Wojciech Bialek
Together-Razem Support & Integration Centre

Education and Training

Tomás Connaughton
Civil Defence
(Category Winner)

Charlie Harnett
Irish Red Cross (Tralee Branch)

Frances Walsh
Offaly Dyslexia

Health and Disability

Betty Wall
Variety, the children’s charity
(Category Winner)

Paul Fallon
On the Road Again

Veronica Lucas
Tallaght Hospital

International Development

Orla O’ Connell
Outreach Moldova (ORM)
(Category Winner)

Eva-Marie Costello
Founder and Chairperson, Ashirbad Society N.U.I.G (in conjunction with Sisters of St.Joseph of Cluny, West Bengal, India)

Jacqueline McAuley
VSO Ireland

Social Work

Sr. Helen Culhane
Children’s Grief Project
(Category Winner)

Anne Woodworth
Samaritans – Waterford and South East Branch

Sinead Carey
Novas Initiatives Street-Outreach

Sports and Recreation

Jim Ryan
Claremorris Athletic Club
(Category Winner)

Joe Murtagh
Special Olympics Ireland – Munster

Paul McCormack
St. John Bosco GAC