2008 Awards

The inaugural 2008 Ireland Involved Awards were a national success, supported by members of the government and voluntary sector and covered by the national press. Thirty volunteers were honoured at a celebration at the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin, with special guests that included Claire Byrne, Newstalk; Minister Pat Carey, Government Chief Whip; Lord Mayor of Dublin, Councillor Eibhlin Byrne; Marian Harkin, MEP; and Fergus Finlay, CEO Barnardos. Marie Carroll of Bayside Gymnastics was selected as Irish Volunteer of the Year for her contributions to society.

Following the Ireland Involved Awards in 2008, Marie Carroll and Volunteer Ireland attended the European Forum on Community Life and Voluntary Work. Carroll was presented in the European Parliament in Strasbourg, where her work was showcased in a 5 minute film along with the work of volunteers from countries all across Europe. She was awarded the Bronze level recognition for her contribution to Irish Society and ultimately to European Society.

Volunteer of the Year

Marie Carroll, Bayside Gymnastics

Bayside Gymnastics prides itself on its integrated programme in which individuals with special needs work side by side with those.

2008 Nominees

Animals and Environment

Seamus Connor
Clean Coast Project, An Taisce – Environment Education Unit
(Category Winner)

Jeanne Lynch
Irish Seal Sanctuary

Lynn Moore
Irish Seal Sanctuary

Arts, Culture and Media

Helen Prout
Cork Youth Film Arts Group
(Category Winner)

Andrew Gibbons

Doreen Davitt
The Ark, A Cultural Centre for Children

Campaigning and Awareness Raising

Ailbhe Smyth
National Lesbian and Gay Federation
(Category Winner)

Frank Buckley
Sports Against Racism Ireland

Liz Powell & Rosaleen Molloy
Mental Health Ireland

Children and Youth

Mary Carmel O’Donoghue
The Blue Box Creative Learning Centre
(Category Winner)

Margaret Geary
Butterfly Club

Ronnie Moore
Portlaw Foroige Youth Group



Brian Mooney
IRD Kiltimagh Ltd
(Category Winner)

Margaret Brown
Dun Laoghaire Christmas Day Lunch

Rose Michael
Royal National Lifeboat Institution

Education and Training

Mary Nally
Third Age Foundation
(Category Winner)

Dr. Pat Coughlan

Gabriella Pauls

Health and Disability

Ann Lynskey
Ability West
(Category Winner)

Amanda Clifford
Limerick Citizen Advocacy Project

Marie Carroll
Bayside Gymnastics

International Development

Maureen Forrest
The Hope Foundation
(Category Winner)

Christiane O’Mahony
SUAS Educational Development

Nicky Deasy
The Nepalese Children’s Foundation

Social Work

Anthony Fizgerald
Depaul Trust
(Category Winner)

Mary Nally
Senior Help Line

Mona McMahon
Depaul Trust

Sports and Recreation

Marie Carroll
Bayside Gymnastics
(Category Winner)

Frank Buckley
Sports Against Racism Ireland

Martin Quinn
Canon Hayes Recreation Centre